Waiting on Wednesday ~ Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

Waiting on Wednesday ~ Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

Hello everyone,

Another Wednesday, this week we got a book I have been looking forward to for a long time. Since I first saw the book being mentioned on Twitter.

So here we go. This week’s most anticipated book:


22926534Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.

Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they’ve inherited from a great-uncle. But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky chicken appears and Sophie discovers the hen can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain: jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, the entire henhouse….

And then more of her great-uncle’s unusual chickens come home to roost. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, earning money for chicken feed, collecting eggs. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe.

Told in letters to Sophie’s abuela, quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, Unusual Chickens is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.

So why do I really want to read those books? 

The book just sounds awesome, chickens, a girl living in a new environment, and I really am interested to see this book, as the last part says the story is told in letters, quizzes, courses, lists and more. I really hope the book is told like this, it would be a nice change from normal books. I also can’t wait to see the illustrations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *