Spell the Month in Books August 2021

Spell the Month in Books August 2021

Hey all!

Nichijou, Calendar

Welcome to a new Spell the Month in Books post! Time for books with A U G U S T! August is here~

I almost forgot about this post existing. Haha. I am currently writing this one in advance, it is now 28th of July, and I was doing my Vacation TBR when I suddenly thought about it being August, then came books, and then came Spell the Month in Books. My mind is amazing. So here we are! I got a whole new post for you featuring books I want to read! Only one of these isn’t on my vacation list, that one will be read when I get back home at the end of August, but the others are books I am reading while camping.

I may have cheated a little bit, I just couldn’t find a book with an A, so I just went with the series name for that letter. It still counts, right? XD

First up I will show you guys a picture of my stack and after that I will show the book covers + blurb (for the Dutch-Dutch books I translated the blurb for you , for the English>Dutch translated books or English books I picked the original blurb).

The original creator of this tag is Reviews From The Stacks!

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

August, Spell the Month in Books, Books, Reading, TBR, Avengers, Children's Books, Thriller, Adult, Young Adult

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

The Sinister Substitute, Marvel Avengers Assemly, Preeti Chhiber, James Lancett, Children's Books, SuperheroesIt’s a new semester at Avengers Assembly but something seriously weird is going on!
Kamala, Doreen, and Miles are back at Avengers Assembly for a new semester! Captain Marvel has added new staff to the school, and the students don’t quite know what to expect from them.

But some of these teachers are really not acting like heroes at all, more like… super-villains? And then someone starts posting incriminating pictures of Doreen and her friends. Can Doreen and her friends get to the bottom of this scandal, who framed them and what is causing the teachers to act so strange? Or will this be the end of the Avengers Assembly?

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Johnny Ball: Undercover Football Genius, Football, Soccer, Matt Oldfield, Yellow, Children's BooksJohnny Ball’s got a super exciting new job: assistant manager for the Tissbury Tigers! But there’s a catch. Johnny’s brother, Daniel, is the Tiger’s star player and he doesn’t want his younger brother cramping his style. Daniel tells Johnny that no one on the team is ever allowed to know who he is. Can Johnny use his football genius to go undercover and lead the Tigers to victory in the League?

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Girls Save the World in This One, Zombies, Survival, Cons, Horror, Pink, Purple, Girls, Ash ParsonsShaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang , and Anna and the Apocalypse .
Mega-fan June Blue’s whole life has been leading up to this moment: ZombieCon! The Ultimate in Undead Entertainment has finally come to her hometown. She and her two best friends–gorgeous, brilliant Imani and super-sweet, outrageously silly Siggy–plan on hitting all the panels and photo ops, and meeting the heartthrob lead of their favorite zombie apocalypse show, Human Wasteland. It’s going to be the best time of their lives–and one of their last adventures before they all split up for college.
And when they arrive, everything seems perfect. June’s definitely not going to let anything get in the way
of the flawless con experience–even though she’s endlessly anxious about the SATs and college admissions,
and she can’t seem to avoid her ex-best friend Blair, whose VIP badge lets her walk straight to the front of every single line. No matter what, June is determined to make the best of her dream day at ZombieCon!
But something’s not quite right at the con–there are strange people in hazmat suits running around, enthusiastic cosplayers taking their shambling a little too far, and someone actually biting a cast member. Then, at a panel gone wrong, June and her friends discover the truth: the zombie apocalypse is here.
Now June, Imani, and Siggy must do whatever it takes to survive a horde of actual flesh-eating zombies–
and save the world. A hilarious and heartfelt horror comedy, that is an ode to zombies, friendship, and girl power.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

The Unteachables, Gordon Korman, Humour, Children's Books, Young Adult,A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day.
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in the class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.
Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that idea—and it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.
The Unteachables never thought they’d find a teacher who had a worse attitude than they did. And Mr. Kermit never thought he would actually care about teaching again. Over the course of a school year, though, room 117 will experience mayhem, destruction—and maybe even a shot at redemption.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Six Stories, Trees, Murder, Mystery, Thriller, Horror1997. Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an Outward Bound center. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the tight-knit group of friends who embarked on that fateful trip, and the flimsy testimony of those living nearby.
2017. Enter elusive investigative journalist Scott King, whose podcast examinations of complicated cases have rivaled the success of Serial, with his concealed identity making him a cult internet figure. In a series of six interviews, King attempts to work out how the dynamics of a group of idle teenagers conspired with the sinister legends surrounding the fell to result in Jeffries’ mysterious death. As every interview unveils a new revelation, you’ll be forced to work out for yourself how Tom Jeffries died, and who is telling the truth.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

These SIX brand-new, full-color comics feature thrilling stories from the Last Kids crew–and finally reveal the mysterious whereabouts of two villainous villains to prep readers for the 7th book in the series coming Fall 2021!

The kids and their monster buddies are hanging out in the tree house, when Jack launches into an epic, totally-heroic, super rad story of one of his many post-apocalyptic adventures. Of course, after he’s finished, everyone’s eager to one-up his tale with a story of their own. Soon, Quint, Dirk, June and Skaelka, and even Globlet regale the group with sometimes outrageous, often hilarious details of their action-packed escapades during the monster-zombie apocalypse.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

One thought on “Spell the Month in Books August 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: