Spell the Month in Books April 2023

Spell the Month in Books April 2023

Afternoon all!

Nichijou, Calendar

Welcome to the newest Spell the Month in Books! This time it is April!

Still a short month so YAS, however I did have a bit of an issues finding a book with a P, so in the end I went with someone’s surname for that later. All the other letters I found quite easily! 3 of these these books are on my TBR, 1 I need to buy when I can, 3 are from Netgalley (one read), and 1 is from my physical TBR! I cannot wait to start reading all these books this month~ dances And I hope that spring starts for real! It is still cold and at times the weather just says no. I want some more sun, some warmth! Plus, I want to do some gardening~

The original creator of this tag is Reviews From The Stacks!

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Audrey Covington Breaks the Rules by Karina Evans, Children's Books, Humour, Grandmother, Grandparents, Hollywood, Summer, Girl, Woman, GolfcartA grandmother-granddaughter duo set off on the Hollywood adventure of a lifetime in this funny middle-grade novel about breaking rules, growing up, and finding yourself—perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Booki Vivat.

Audrey Covington’s parents are the textbook definition of strict—they don’t let Audrey stay up late or watch scary movies, and they definitely don’t let her go anywhere unsupervised. Audrey knows it’s best to just accept the way it is. But her friends decide her parents’ rules are getting in the way of all their fun and unceremoniously disinvite her from their annual start-of-summer slumber party so they aren’t tied down by boring Audrey.

Now Audrey is stuck helping her parents move her former-movie-star grandmother into a luxury retirement community. When she finally manages to sneak off to her parents’ car to check her phone, her grandmother climbs into the driver’s seat and speeds off—not realizing Audrey is still in the back seat! After startling each other, they come to a deal: Audrey promises not to tell her parents where her grandma is if Audrey can join in on one last grand adventure—no rules allowed. But as the two make their way across Hollywood, they realize that the life they think they want might not be what they need.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

The Whispering Pines James Preller , Kevin Keele, Children's Book, Horror, Scary, Wolf, Girl, Boy, Hotel/MotelWelcome to the EXIT 13 Motel!

Pets welcome!

And don’t worry, we’ve been waiting for you, so stay as long as you like.

With black-and-white comic pages throughout, EXIT 13 is perfect for mystery and horror loving kids everywhere!

The McGinns were supposed to be going on a perfectly normal family vacation. Sure, Ash’s older sister Willow was a pain, their dog Daisy was a whiny scaredy cat, and their parents were being kind of lame. All of that was to be expected. Perfectly normal! But when the family decides to make an unplanned stop one night, it quickly becomes clear that this family vacation is about to get more than a little weird, because there is nothing normal about the EXIT 13 Motel.

Rooms and hallways that don’t go where they’re supposed to, a receptionist that looks like he came straight out of a horror movie, and creepy woods that Ash swears have some kind of monster lurking in them – maybe even more than one. Something has been going on ever since the McGinns checked in to this motel, and if Ash and Willow can’t get to the bottom of it, they might never be able to check out.

Explore the weird and creepy world of EXIT 13 in this spine-chilling series. Whether you’re a fan of mystery, a lover of horror, or even a graphic novel super reader, EXIT 13 is sure to grab you. This illustrated novel — the first in a new series — includes black-and-white comic pages throughout!

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Rosewood: A Midsummer Meet Cute Sayantani DasGupta, Young Adult, Retelling, Romance, Girl, Dress, Boy, Summer Camp, TV-showAll the Bright Places meets You’ve Reached Sam in this teen psychological thriller about two girls on the precipice.

Welcome to Meadowlark, Long Island—expensive homes and good schools, ambition and loneliness. Meet Chase Ohara and Lia Vestiano: the driven overachiever and the impulsive wanderer, the future CEO and the free spirit. Best friends for years—weekend trips to Montauk, sleepovers on a yacht—and then, first love. True love.

But when Lia disappears, Chase’s life turns into a series of grim snapshots. Anger. Grief. Running. Pink pills in an Altoids tin. A cheating ring at school. Heartbreak and lies. A catastrophic secret.

And the shocking truth that will change everything about the way Chase sees Lia—and herself.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

I Will Find You Again, Sarah Lyu, Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery, LGBT, Mental Health, Missing, FacesOh no! The famous Diamondo del Mondo has been stolen! There’s something fishy going on. And no one knows fishy quite like . . . Inspector Penguin! Spot the clues throughout the book to help Inspector Penguin solve the mystery!

Who could have broken into Baron von Buffetworth’s super-secure top-secret safe? And where have they taken his precious diamond?

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

London: A Guide for Curious Wanderers Jack Chesher , Katharine Fraser, Travel, London, Non-Fiction, See London in a completely new light in this guide to the city’s hidden secrets, untold stories and special places laden with history which you can discover for yourself!

London is famous for its museums, each one full of treasures and relics – but the biggest museum in the capital is the city itself. From the stories behind unusual street names, to the trees in our parks; railings made from recycled WWII stretchers, to shrapnel damage on walls; the hidden symbols on post boxes, to prehistoric tree trunks – there is a rich history hidden in the oft-overlooked details of the city’s streets, gardens, parks and buildings. This richly detailed and beautifully illustrated book provides a miscellany of historic features and curiosities to spot as you wander around the capital. Whether you’ve always wondered why there are cattle troughs on your route to work , why bollards often look like upside down cannons or wanted to know what a Victorian stink pipe is – this book will provide the tools to decipher London’s secret code, and introduce you to a treasure trove of hidden spots to explore.

The book comes complete with maps so you can spot these details yourself on walks through the capital. So, pop on a sturdy pair of shoes and get ready to turn the city into the museum you never knew you had.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: