Spell the Month in Books: Special Vacation Edition

Spell the Month in Books: Special Vacation Edition

Afternoon all!

Welcome to a special edition of Spell the Month in Books! It is August, but I am not going to be spelling that month!

I tried looking for books with those letters but didn’t have a lot of luck and since this is supposed to be a relaxing month in regards to Blogging, so instead I decided to do VACATION. As that is what is my life is at the moment and for another 11-12 days! And those letters I could easily find spread over various shelves of mine. Namely: To-read-Library, OMG-Need-to-Buy, OMG-Need-to-Buy-Kindle, and my Vacation-TBR! I had a lot of fun finding the letters spread over these shelves and puzzle it all together to make VACATION!

As you saw from the shelf names, these are all books I still need to be reading or need to be buying! Apparently it is even an even split. The first 4 are all on my buy shelves and the other 4 are all books I am going to be reading soon.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

The original creator of this tag is Reviews From The Stacks!

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery #1 A Very English Murder Verity BrightMove over Miss Marple, there’s a new sleuth in town! Meet Eleanor Swift: distinguished adventurer, dog lover, dignified lady… daring detective?

England, 1920. Eleanor Swift has spent the last few years travelling the world: taking tea in China, tasting alligators in Peru, escaping bandits in Persia and she has just arrived in England after a chaotic forty-five-day flight from South Africa. Chipstone is about the sleepiest town you could have the misfortune to meet. And to add to these indignities – she’s now a Lady.

Lady Eleanor, as she would prefer not to be known, reluctantly returns to her uncle’s home, Henley Hall. Now Lord Henley is gone, she is the owner of the cold and musty manor. What’s a girl to do? Well, befriend the household dog, Gladstone, for a start, and head straight out for a walk in the English countryside, even though a storm is brewing…

But then, from the edge of a quarry, through the driving rain, Eleanor is shocked to see a man shot and killed in the distance. Before she can climb down to the spot, the villain is gone and the body has vanished. With no victim and the local police convinced she’s stirring up trouble, Eleanor vows to solve this affair by herself. And when her brakes are mysteriously cut, one thing seems sure: someone in this quiet country town has Lady Eleanor Swift in their murderous sights…

If you enjoy witty dialogue, glamorous intrigue and the very best of Golden Age mysteries, then you will adore Verity Bright’s unputdownable whodunnit, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Downton Abbey!

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

ABC Cats: An Alpha-Cat Book Lesléa Newman , Isabella Kung, Picture Book, Cute, Cats, ABC, Children's Book,A beguiling array of felines from A to Z makes learning the alphabet the cat’s pajamas.

Adorable cat with eyes of gold.
Baby cat just two weeks old.

From curious to elegant, grouchy to inquisitive, rowdy to tangled to . . . well, unusual (who says cats don’t swim in the tub?), these twenty-six charming felines interact with oversize alphabet letters on rhyming spreads. Author Lesléa Newman and illustrator Isabella Kung offer a cat’s-eye concept book that makes the ABCs go down easy—and is sure to inspire many a repeat viewing.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Camp Sylvania Julie Murphy, Summer Camp, Weight, Girls, Moon, Spooky, Vampires, Ghosts, Children's BooksFrom the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Dear Sweet Pea comes a hilarious and spooky middle grade summer-camp story that takes a bite out of fat camp.

Magnolia “Maggie” Hagen is determined to be in the spotlight…if she can just get over her stage fright. This summer, though, she has big plans to finally attend Camp Rising Star, the famous performing arts camp she’s been dying to go to for three whole summers.

But on the last day of school, her parents break the news: Maggie isn’t going to Camp Rising Star. She’s being shipped off to fat camp—and not just any fat camp. She’s going to Camp Sylvania, run by world-famous wellness influencer Sylvia Sylvania, who is known for her soon-to-be patented Scarlet Diet.

When Maggie arrives at camp, things are…weird. There are the humiliating weigh-ins and grueling workouts, as expected. But the campers are also encouraged to donate blood—at their age! The cafeteria serves only red foods and the oddly specific rules change every day. There are even rumors of a camp ghost.

Despite these horrors, Maggie makes friends and starts to actually enjoy herself. There are even tryouts for a camp production of The Music Man! This place might not be so bad…until campers start going missing and suspicious things begin happening—especially after dark.

The camp ghost might be the least scary thing about this place….

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Anger Bang by Avery Flynn, Romance, Palaeontologist, Pink, Dinosaur wearing a dress/tutu with a yellow background and lots of confetti, romance, Tv show, reality show, wedding, humourSometimes you just need to bang it out…

Shy paleontologist Thea Pope just wants to get through her sister’s ’80s-themed monstrosity of a TV reality-show wedding so she can get to her summer field work. The only problem? Her sister has turned into the ultimate bridezilla – as in pink parasols, organza hats, forcing people to shave and dye their hair levels of over-the-top, it’s-my-day antics – all while on location in a place literally called hell that reeks of sulfur and lost hopes.

The only thing that can make it worse is when her sister declares that she never even wanted Thea in the wedding at all but that the producers insisted. Ouch doesn’t begin to express how much it hurts that her own sister didn’t even want her to be at her wedding.

There’s only one thing Thea can do after her sister finally pushes her too far – she picks the one man at the wedding her sister cannot stand – the groom’s brother, Kade St. James – and has sex with him.

Is it petty revenge that she’ll be rubbing in her sister’s face from now until eternity? Absolutely. Still, it seems like a great idea at the time, and really what could go wrong?

Pretty much everything it turns out.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

They Come From the Water Wendy Dalrymple, Horror, House, Lake, Death, Sisters, Secrets, Scary, Red, Blue, Purple, FloridaFamily secrets, grief and a dark, foreboding mystery… Estranged sisters Summer and Joy are forced to reunite after the untimely and gruesome deaths of their mother and grandparents.The two sisters are tasked with cleaning out their grandparents’ home on Palmetto Lake in the heart of Central Florida during the hottest, most brutal time of the year. But something seems amiss in the bucolic lakefront community. Something Summer can’t seem to place her finger on. Despite decades of unspoken animosity, the two sisters attempt to come together to support each other as they uncover the terrors of their unknown past. Questions about the true nature of their grandparents and the strange lakefront neighborhood bubble to the surface as Summer struggles to stay focused on the task at hand. However, with every layer the sisters strip away, with every new bit of evidence about their grandparents that they stumble upon, it becomes more and more clear to Summer that they aren’t just going dealing with grief and loss… but danger. When it comes to the past, sometimes the truth is better left unknown. They Come From the Water is a Florida Gothic meditation on inherited family trauma, destructive secrets and dark dangers that lurk just beneath the surface. *Content Addiction, adultery, murder, suicide, mentions of SA, self-harm, animal death and gore.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

It Will End Like This, Kyra Leigh, Girls, Brown, Red Letters, Young Adult, Death, Thriller, Young Adult, Horror, Mystery, Sisters“If you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don’t.” —Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders

For fans of The Cheerleaders and Sadie comes a propulsive thriller that reminds us that in real life, endings are rarely as neat as happily ever after. A contemporary take on the Lizzie Borden story that explores how grief can cut deep.

Charlotte lost her mother six months ago, and still no one will tell her exactly what happened the day she mysteriously died. They say her heart stopped, but Charlotte knows deep down that there’s more to the story.

The only person who gets it is Charlotte’s sister, Maddi. Maddi agrees—people’s hearts don’t just stop. There are too many questions left unanswered for the girls to move on.

But their father is moving on. With their mother’s personal assistant. And both girls are sure of one she’s going to steal everything that’s theirs for herself. She’ll even get rid of them eventually.

Now, in order to get their lives back, Charlotte and Maddi have to decide what kind of story they live in. Do they remain the obedient girls their father insists they be, or do they follow their rage to the end?

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

The Others of Edenwell Verity M. Holloway, Horror, Mystery, Friends, Monster, Haunting, Crows, Birds coming out of a houseNorfolk, 1917. Unable to join the army due to a heart condition, Freddie lives and works with his father in the grounds of the Edenwell Hydropathic, a wellness retreat in the Norfolk brecks. Preferring the company of birds – who talk to him as one of their own – over the eccentric characters who live in the spa, bathing in its healing waters, Freddie overhears their premonitions of murder.

Eustace Moncrieff is a troublemaker, desperate to go to war and leave behind his wealthy family. Shipped to Edenwell by his mother to keep him safe from the horrors of the trenches, he strikes up a friendship with Freddie at the behest of Doctor Chalice, the American owner of the Hydropathic.

As the two friends grow closer and grapple with their demons, they discover a body, and something terrifying stalking the woods. The dark halls of the spa are breached, haunted by the woodland beast, and the boys soon realise that they may be the only things standing between this monster and the whole of Edenwell.

♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕ ♕

Noorwegen, Kleine atlas voor hedonisten Brice Portolano, Travel, Norway, Fjord, Bekijk het prachtige Noorwegen door de lens van natuurfotograaf Brice Portolano
• Inclusief topografische kaarten
• Met actuele achtergrondverhalen

Voor de publicatie in de succesvolle serie Kleine atlas voor hedonisten reisde fotograaf Brice Portolano 10000 kilometer door het magische Noorwegen, het minst dichtbevolkte land van Europa. Van de haven van Oslo tot de gletsjers van Spitsbergen, tot verhalen over Vikingen en onwaarschijnlijke natuur: Portolano vat verhaal en beeld perfect samen in dit prachtige boek.

4 thoughts on “Spell the Month in Books: Special Vacation Edition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: