Waiting on Wednesday ~ The Voice Upstairs by Laura E. Weymouth

Waiting on Wednesday ~ The Voice Upstairs by Laura E. Weymouth

Evening all!

A spoooooooky welcome to a new Waiting on Wednesday! Today: The Voice Upstairs by Laura E. Weymouth!

Which you may have seen in various posts the past months (Friday Favourites, Top 5 Tuesday, Cover Lover Saturday, New Releases October). I am just SO hyped about this book and want to get it so badly (please Amazon, have it in stock, I cannot wait 6-7 months). It sounds absolutely amazing and did you see that cover??? Hello! That is just too epic! But on to the book, ghosts, mysterious deaths, a dash of romance? And supernatural powers and possible ghosts? I am sold! It sounds so good, and again, that cover? Hello!

The Voice Upstairs by Laura E. Weymouth, girl with ghostly swirls standing in a dark hallway, young adult, ghosts, horror, spookyIn 1920s England, a working-class girl who can see spirits works with a lord’s son to solve mysterious deaths at the local manor home in this eerie historical mystery perfect for fans of The Haunting of Bly Manor and Downton Abbey.

Wilhelmina Price has a dubious reputation in the village of Thrush’s Green. Ever since her mother’s untimely death, she has been able to see a person’s spirit leaving their body days or hours before they die. Wil has never been able to prevent these deaths, so her unusual skill has made her an outsider to most except her lifelong friend, Edison, the youngest son of Lord Summerfield. But when a maid at the Summerfield’s estate dies in the same mysterious way as Wil’s own mother, Wil takes on a housemaid’s position to investigate whether these women might, in fact, have been murdered.

There is nothing Ed Summerfield values more than his friendship with Wil, which is why he’s desperate to disguise how hopelessly in love with her he’s become—and his belief that he may be haunted by the ghost of his older brother, Peter. Because if Wil, with her supernatural powers, can’t see the same evidence of hauntings that Ed does, he worries he may actually be losing his mind.

Together, Wil and Ed must dig deeper into the Summerfields’ hoard of secrets, though the truth won’t give itself up without a fight that could prove deadly to the both of them, as they face cunning adversaries among the living and the dead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: